Tuesday, December 21, 2010


Finishing a book one has been reading  for a while is exhilarating. Loose ends are about to be wrapped up, satisfaction is on its way, and another book will be removed from the reading queue.  And then my mind starts to informally audition all the books scattered around my house that are awaiting to be read. What to read next?

First, I look at this pretty stack.  No, not just yet. But soon, perhaps next month.

And, then I notice these quick little reads.  Hmmm, too quick.

Of course, there is this little gem that will be a cozy read.  Gerald Durrell's My Family and Other Animals with its enticing cover.

But I need something I can really delve into.  And since I've recently read several light-hearted fictional works, it's time to read some serious non-fiction.

And the winner is.....

The Lost City of Z, by David Grann, recommended to me by my friend, Pam.  Listen to this, "At times, I had to remind myself that everything in this story is true: a movie star really was abducted by Indians; there were cannibals, ruins, secret maps, and spies; explorers died from starvation, disease, attacks by wild animals, and poisonous arrows; and at stake amid the adventure and death was the very understanding of the Americas before Christopher Columbus came ashore in the New World." Didn't your little heart quicken just reading Grann's words?  Mine did.

So, I'm off to the Amazon (in my imaginary mind, because I can assure you, I will never step foot in that place).  This should be a great follow-up to one of my favorite adventure books of all time, The River of Doubt, by Candice Millard.

I would love to know: What are you reading?


  1. The Lost City of Z sounds - almost unbelievable as your friend says. I'll watch for a review.

    What am I reading? Well, among other things, The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt. The River of Doubt is kind of "the fall of Theodore Roosevelt." It's amazing he lived through that experience - though he did get the Rio Roosevelt named after him.

    Merry Christmas, Kimberly.

  2. Mary:

    The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt is one of my favorite biography's. Although it has been ages since I read it, I remember liking it more than Theodore Rex.